Highly controversial call denies Wallabies victory in Test decider
SEN • July 27th, 2025 3:43 pm

The Wallabies have been denied a courageous victory over the British and Irish Lions after a questionable decision towards the Lions sealed the series in the dying stages.
With just minutes to play, Carlo Tizzano was collected at the neck by Lion Jac Morgan while legally jackling, allowing the Lions to restart play leading to a try in the final moments to go ahead 26-29.
Despite reviewing the play, Referee Andrea Piardi denied that any illegal contact occurred during the play, permitting the try and the series to the British and Irish Lions.
Australian commentator and former union player Morgan Turinui was adamant the call had to be made, insisting that Tizzano was illegally dealt with prior to the game-winning try.
"It's an easy, simple call, you cannot hit a guy in the neck,” Turinui said over the Stan Sport live call.
“That decision is 100 per cent completely wrong.
“The referee got it wrong. His two assistant referees got it wrong. The TMO got it wrong. Joel Jutge, the head of the referees, is out here on a junket.
"He needs to haul those referees in and ask for a please explain... the refereeing group, when it counted, got the match-defining decision completely wrong.
"It’s a point of law. It’s in black and white. It’s not about bias.”
With the decision handing victory to the Lions, they now progress to 2-0 in the series, with the final contest of the three-game series kicking off in Sydney in the coming weeks.